Welcome to my new blog!

My name is Bexy, I am the owner of MBotanicals Skincare, a natural, unisex skincare range.  At the moment my range contains face oils, balms and powdered cleansers – of the anhydrous (waterless) variety.  But I love making all sorts of products.  I am at the moment working on face and body creams, body scrubs and soap (my new love).

This is the place where I will be talking about the process of making these products and the problems and dilemma’s I have when choosing ingredients that are environmentally sustainable, good for the skin, work as intended and are a pleasure to use – this is a challenge as there are limited materials out there for us natural skincare formulators!

It will show my journey in selecting materials and experimentations with different formulas. I am fairly new to soap making, having made my first soap about a year ago.  I love the process of soap making and that you can make something very useful from three basic ingredients – oil, lye and water.  I will also show how I use other materials to make my soaps pretty (hopefully). Up until now I have only ever made hot process soap.   I learnt about this  from reading, reading and more reading and then watching YouTube videos – which have come in very handy.  Later I found that hot process soap making is more advanced than cold process – oh how ignorance is bliss.

I will also talk about stuff related to the organic skincare industry – the advancements and achievements.  I want to talk about the science behind skincare – although I am not a scientist I have a very strong inclination that way, which has only come about through my journey of formulating – in fact the process of formulating products has meant that my idea of natural is broader than it was when I first started on my journey.

I hope you enjoy reading my blog and if you like what you read, please feel free to contact me via the contact form or in the comments section below.

Welcome to my new blog!

Leave a Reply

